La Marca Prosecco: Who Makes It, How Sweet, What It Costs
La Marca Prosecco is a DOC sparkling wine from Treviso sold under Gallo in the US. Who makes it, its sweetness and alcohol, the range, and what it costs.
By Wine Blue Book editorial teamUpdated 7 min read

La Marca Prosecco is an Italian sparkling wine from Treviso, sold in a light blue label. Shanken News Daily called it the largest sparkling wine brand in the US by volume in April 2024. US retailers list it as Extra Dry, which means off-dry rather than bone dry, and a 750 ml bottle costs about $15 to $16. In our view, it suits brunches, spritzes and easy celebrations. This guide covers who’s behind it, how sweet and strong it is, what’s in the range and what critics have said. Wine Blue Book is independent and isn’t affiliated with La Marca or E. & J. Gallo.
Who makes La Marca Prosecco
Three names come up, and they each play a different role, on the sources we could open:
- The growers and producer in Italy. La Marca’s own story says the brand began in 1968, that its wines are crafted in Treviso, in the Veneto, and that they represent 5,000 local growers. Market Watch’s 2018 report calls the producer the La Marca cooperative, Gallo’s portfolio page describes a cooperative representing 5,000 local winegrowers, and The Liquor Barn’s listing describes a cooperative of nine wineries in the Veneto and Friuli-Venezia-Giulia.
- E. & J. Gallo. Market Watch said in 2018 that Gallo operates the La Marca label, Just Drinks reported in 2016 that it was Gallo’s first Prosecco brand when it launched in the UK, and Shanken News Daily still called it “Gallo’s La Marca” in April 2024.
- La Marca USA. The brand’s site carries the name La Marca USA of Healdsburg, California, in its copyright line.
Shanken News Daily reported in April 2024, citing Impact Databank, that La Marca was the largest sparkling wine brand by volume in the US, growing about 7% to roughly 3.22 million cases in 2023. We didn’t find a more recent figure we could open.
What it is: Prosecco DOC, explained
Our main guide to Prosecco covers the rules in full. The short version for this bottle:
- Prosecco DOC is the large zone across nine provinces of Veneto and Friuli Venezia Giulia. La Marca’s flagship is labeled D.O.C.
- The grape is Glera. La Marca says “primarily Glera”. DOC rules require at least 85%, and LCBO lists Glera for this wine.
- The bubbles. La Marca says it uses the Metodo Italiano, a common Italian name for the tank process our Prosecco guide calls the Martinotti or Charmat method. The guide explains why that keeps the wine fresh and fruity rather than bready.
The brand describes the flavor as bright and crisp, with citrus and honeysuckle plus hints of green apple, peach and lemon. That’s the brand’s description, and it fits the broad flavor family the Prosecco DOC consortium describes for the wine, as our guide explains.
How sweet is La Marca Prosecco?
Here’s where the label needs some translating. La Marca’s own page doesn’t state the sweetness style. Target and Wooden Cork both list the wine as Extra Dry.
Under the Prosecco DOC consortium’s ranges, Extra Dry means 12 to 17 grams of sugar per liter, sweeter than Brut (under 12), despite the name. Our guide to Brut vs. Extra Dry explains why the words run backward.
We found one published number: Ontario’s liquor board, the LCBO, lists 18 g/L for the 375 ml bottle it sells, which sits just above that range. That’s one listing in Canada, not a US spec, so we wouldn’t lean on it. What we can say is that it isn’t a bone-dry wine, and in our view Wooden Cork’s “lightly off-dry” is a fair summary. If you want drier, look for Brut on the label.
Alcohol content
The listings don’t fully agree. These are the figures each source publishes:
| Source | ABV listed |
|---|---|
| LCBO (Ontario) | 11% |
| Wooden Cork | 11% |
| The Liquor Barn | 11% |
| Target | 13.5% |
| La Marca’s product page | Not stated |
The Prosecco DOC minimum for sparkling wine is 11%, according to the consortium. In our view, Target’s 13.5% looks like a listing mistake. That’s our opinion, not something Target or La Marca has said, so read the back label.
The La Marca range
As of November 2026, the brand’s site lists these wines:
| Wine | What the brand says | Sizes listed |
|---|---|---|
| Prosecco | D.O.C.; citrus, honeysuckle, green apple | 750, 375 and 187 ml, 1.5 L |
| Prosecco Rosé | D.O.C.; citrus, peach, pear, red berries | 750 and 187 ml |
| Prosecco Demi Sec | D.O.C.; “balanced and sweet”; citrus, sweet apple, floral | 750 ml |
| Luminore / Icon | Prosecco Superiore DOCG from Conegliano Valdobbiadene; stone fruit, pear, citrus | 750 ml |
| Non-Alcoholic Sparkling | Non-alcoholic | Not stated |
A few notes on these:
- Rosé. Under the DOC’s rules, Prosecco Rosé must include 10% to 15% Pinot Nero and show a vintage with Millesimato on the label, as our Prosecco guide explains. La Marca’s page doesn’t list the blend.
- Demi Sec. Demi-sec is the sweet end of the Prosecco scale at 32 to 50 g/L, according to the consortium. In our view, it suits dessert better than a spritz.
- Luminore. Market Watch reported in 2018 that it launched as a limited edition at $30, from the Conegliano Valdobbiadene hills, marking the cooperative’s 50th anniversary. DOCG is the higher tier of Prosecco, explained in our Prosecco guide. The brand’s site currently shows the DOCG wine under both the Luminore and Icon names.
What critics say
Scores for La Marca are hard to pin down, partly because it’s sold without a vintage. Here’s what we found:
- Tastings.com, 86 points. Its review of the NV Prosecco DOC dates from May 2018, gives 11% alcohol, and is marked as archived: the site says it can’t certify the quality level without a current sample.
- Wine Review Online, 92 points, for the Rosé. Rich Cook reviewed the 2020 Prosecco Rosé DOC in July 2021, at a $20 list price. That’s one older vintage, not the wine on the shelf today.
- James Suckling, 90 points. The Liquor Barn quotes this and ties it to the 2020 and 2021 vintages, which doesn’t match a wine sold as non-vintage, so we can’t match the score to the bottle on the shelf.
- Wine Spectator, 90 points. Zachys cites this, but the review is dated “04/07”, apparently April 2007, which is far too old to describe today’s wine.
None of these is a current score we can match to today’s bottle, the same conclusion as in our best Prosecco under $20 list, so we don’t give La Marca a value verdict under our Blue Book Value method. If you want a Prosecco with a recent, verifiable score at a similar price, that list has four critic-rated picks.
What it costs
Regular (non-sale) prices we opened in November 2026, for non-vintage 750 ml bottles:
| Store | Price |
|---|---|
| Wooden Cork | $14.99 |
| Zachys | $15.95 |
| Target | $15.99 |
| 67 Wine | $23.99 regular |
Most of these line up with the $15.99 we recorded at Target in October 2026, and with the average of about $16 that Shanken News Daily gave in 2024. 67 Wine is the outlier. Prices vary by state, and the 187 ml size can be a handy single serving.
How to serve and keep it
These tips come from our wider guides, and the consortium’s numbers apply to any Prosecco DOC:
- Serve at 6 to 8°C (42 to 46°F), as the Prosecco DOC consortium recommends.
- Use it in a spritz, mimosa or bellini if you like. We’d say an Extra Dry suits drinks with no other sweetness. La Marca’s site also publishes its own cocktail ideas.
- Buy fresh. The consortium says the year after the harvest is the best time to drink Prosecco, and the listings we opened sell La Marca’s flagship without a vintage, so we’d buy it from a busy store and open it soon.
- Finish it soon. Opened Prosecco lasts one to three days in the fridge with a sparkling stopper, according to Wine Folly, as our guide to how long Prosecco lasts explains.
Our guide to vegan Prosecco also notes that La Marca’s page gives no vegan or fining information.
Wine is for adults of legal drinking age (21 in the US). Please drink responsibly.
Frequently asked questions
Who makes La Marca Prosecco?
La Marca says its wines are crafted in Treviso and represent 5,000 local growers, and Market Watch described the producer as the La Marca cooperative in 2018. Shanken News Daily referred to it as Gallo's La Marca in April 2024, and the brand's site names La Marca USA of Healdsburg, California.
Is La Marca Prosecco sweet or dry?
US retailers list it as Extra Dry, a style that despite the name has a touch of sweetness: 12 to 17 grams of sugar per liter under the Prosecco DOC rules. La Marca's own page doesn't state the style or a sugar figure.
What is the alcohol content of La Marca Prosecco?
Most listings we opened, including Ontario's LCBO, say 11%. Target's US listing says 13.5%, which doesn't match. La Marca's own page gives no figure, so check the label.
How much does La Marca Prosecco cost?
In November 2026 a 750 ml bottle was $14.99 at Wooden Cork, $15.95 at Zachys and $15.99 at Target. Shanken News Daily gave an average of about $16 in 2024.
Is La Marca a good Prosecco?
The Liquor Barn quotes 90 points from James Suckling, but ties that to the 2020 and 2021 vintages of a wine sold without a vintage, so we can't match the score to the bottle. We don't give it a value verdict.
Is La Marca Prosecco vegan?
We found no vegan statement on its official page. Our guide to vegan Prosecco explains why that matters; ask the producer or look for a vegan logo on the back label.
Related guides

Wine Basics
Barefoot Wine: History, Range, Sweetness and Prices
Barefoot wine began in a California garage in 1965 and now belongs to Gallo. Here is its history, the range, how sweet each style is, and what it costs.
5 min read

Wine Basics
Stella Rosa Wine: The Riboli Family's Sweet, Fizzy Range
Stella Rosa wine is a semi-sweet, semi-sparkling Italian range from LA's Riboli family, about 5% alcohol. The story, the flavors, ABV and US prices.
7 min read

Wine Basics
Sparkling Rosé: Champagne, Cava, Prosecco and Crémant
Sparkling rosé is pink wine with bubbles. How rosé Champagne, Cava, Prosecco Rosé and Crémant get their color and fizz, how sweet they are and what to eat.
7 min read

Wine Basics
How Long Does Prosecco Last? Opened and Unopened
Opened Prosecco lasts one to three days in the fridge with a sparkling stopper. Unopened, it is best in the year after harvest. Here is how to store it.
6 min read